Forum layout.

Having a problem with the forum? Take a look here to see if we know about it.
Post Reply
suterman
Mud Mad
Mud Mad
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:14 am
My Vehicle(s): Zombie Disposal Unit
Location: Bridgnorth

Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:54 am

Is there any way to alter my settings so the forum fills the screen? at the moment its a narrow strip down the middle of my screen with thick blank spaces at the sides.
User avatar
Maverick
MUD NUT
MUD NUT
Posts: 2017
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:39 pm
My Vehicle(s): Jimny, BMW 430d Convertible
Location: Gayton, WIRRAL
Contact:

Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:48 pm

not that i've ever found out ...
Jalapeño, its like Zukhini, just Hotter... ?

Regards,
Brett (IISY)
User avatar
mxcum167
Mud For Blood
Mud For Blood
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: North Somerset

Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:57 pm

You can use CTRL and + to zoom in on your browser. Keep pressing until it fills up the screen.
Martin

GV 2.5V6
Vit JLXSE 1.6 16v
User avatar
Maverick
MUD NUT
MUD NUT
Posts: 2017
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:39 pm
My Vehicle(s): Jimny, BMW 430d Convertible
Location: Gayton, WIRRAL
Contact:

Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:35 pm

neat trick ... is that for any website?
Jalapeño, its like Zukhini, just Hotter... ?

Regards,
Brett (IISY)
User avatar
1nkling
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3509
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 5:29 pm
My Vehicle(s): 09 Landrover Freelander 2
Location: Devon
Contact:

Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:50 pm

mxcum167 wrote:You can use CTRL and + to zoom in on your browser. Keep pressing until it fills up the screen.
Ooh.. cunning.. :-B

Its the way the site style is created giving a fixed size instead of making it a percentage of screen size.. I'll have a look and see about changing it but it could be that changing it will break other aspects of the page..

Its the same on mine..
User avatar
mxcum167
Mud For Blood
Mud For Blood
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: North Somerset

Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:46 pm

Maverick wrote:neat trick ... is that for any website?
Should do. Try it. I just tried it on the BBC website and it worked. :-bd
Martin

GV 2.5V6
Vit JLXSE 1.6 16v
User avatar
mxcum167
Mud For Blood
Mud For Blood
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: North Somerset

Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:54 pm

Some other useful browser keyboard shortcuts.

CTRL and + ZOOM IN
CTRL and - ZOOM OUT
CTRL and 0 reset to default zoom

SPACE scroll down
SHIFT and SPACE scroll up

If you use IE7 you may find this useful.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/produc ... ckref.mspx" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
or here if you use FireFox
http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Keyboard+shortcuts" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Martin

GV 2.5V6
Vit JLXSE 1.6 16v
suterman
Mud Mad
Mud Mad
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:14 am
My Vehicle(s): Zombie Disposal Unit
Location: Bridgnorth

Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:09 am

I took a screen shot from another phpbb forum I go on but you can see there are no margins...

Image




But here is what Shropshire Suzuki looks like on my screen...

Image

The huge margins means most photos dont fit in the space fully.
User avatar
1nkling
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3509
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 5:29 pm
My Vehicle(s): 09 Landrover Freelander 2
Location: Devon
Contact:

Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:18 pm

suterman wrote:I took a screen shot from another phpbb forum I go on but you can see there are no margins...
Yes, this site you've used as an example uses a completely different phpBB style. As I said above the one we're using has fixed table sizes rather than ones that autostretch depending on your screen size. I'm looking into it but have had things to do, what with it being xmas and all that.
suterman wrote:But here is what Shropshire Suzuki looks like on my screen...

The huge margins means most photos dont fit in the space fully.
Yes, it looks similar on mine although you seem to have bigger margins and mine is a 22" wide running at 1680 x 1050. You should check your zoom is right like mxcum167 said and also your resolution. Pics uploaded to the site as attachments should fit as long as your screen resolution is greater than 800 x 600, which I'm guessing it is. Those attached from external sources can be bigger though so may need scrolling.

So.. I'll look into it but I want to make sure I don't break the style in the process..
suterman
Mud Mad
Mud Mad
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:14 am
My Vehicle(s): Zombie Disposal Unit
Location: Bridgnorth

Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:28 am

no worries.

I was just wondering if I could change my settings on the forum control panel or something thats all

ps, My screen is a 19" at 1440 x 900
User avatar
Maddogz
Offroad Guru
Offroad Guru
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:12 pm
My Vehicle(s): Vitara
Location: Cannock, Staffs

Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:08 am

Just a quicky...

When im on here some pages are thin like suterman and some are mahoosive and stretch way past the edges of the screen. I can read a post fine then visit a link to another post and it goes all wrong.

HTH.
Andy
Image
I started the DarkVit revolution \m/
Post Reply